Tuesday, April 18, 2017

BLOG: Minnesota not hosting 2019-2022 Frozen Fours

Minneapolis and St. Paul's time to host will be next season. After that the road trips begin.

The NCAA announced championship locations Tuesday for 2019-2022 for all sports.

Not surprisingly 2018 men's Frozen Four host Xcel Energy Center was not among the four venues chosen to the host the 2019-2022 editions. Those went to Buffalo (2019) Detroit (2020), Pittsburgh (2021), and Boston (2022).

Of the four, Boston (7 years) waits the least between hosting opportunities. St. Paul waited 7 to host in 2018. Prior to that there was a 9 year gap between 2002 and 2011. While Minnesota put in a bid at Xcel for the later years, the NCAA had dozens of options.

Not even Tampa made it back.

The Gophers will also not host men's hockey regionals for 2018 and 2019, which were also announced Tuesday. There was no bid due to the Frozen Four in 2018 and Final Four coming to the area in 2019. I'd expect one to come the next two seasons given Xcel normally is in the small rotation of regional hosts. Without St. Paul it takes a major hit.

Both North Dakota (West) and Penn State (Midwest) will host each time. The West regional will be in Sioux Falls, South Dakota (2018) and back in Fargo (which hosted the 2015 and 2017 West Regionals) in 2019. Allentown, PA will be home to the first Midwest Regional to contain Wawa, Sheetz and driving distance to New York City both years.

2018's two eastern regionals (or the ones besides the misnomer Midwest) are in Worcester, MA and Bridgeport, CT. 2019 sees Manchester, NH and Providence, RI reprise its 2017 roles.

More surprisingly, 2018 women's Frozen Four host Ridder Arena was not among the next slate, which head East following a stretch where Minneapolis hosts 3 times (including 2018) since 2013. Those went to Hamden, CT (Quinnipiac) in 2019, Boston (BU) in 2020, Erie, PA (Mercyhurst) in 2021, and State College, PA (Penn State) in 2022.

Predetermined regional hosts in women's hockey do not exist. Teams host quarterfinal games on campus rinks.

The University will host nine championships between 2018 and 2022. Besides the Frozen Fours the Twin Cities will see a men's basketball Final Four (2019) at US Bank Stadium and men's basketball regional (2021) at Target Center, the 2020 wrestling championships at US Bank Stadium, and the 2018 women's volleyball Final Four at Target Center. On campus will see swimming and diving (2018) and gymnastics championships (2021).

Minnesota was awarded the 2018 Frozen Fours by the NCAA in December 2013.

No comments:

Post a Comment