Thursday, March 16, 2017

BLOG: Tyler Sheehy named Hobey Baker Top-10 Finalist

Sophomore forward Tyler Sheehy is one of ten finalists for the Hobey Baker Award.

Sheehy, who Monday was named the Big Ten Player of the Year, is the first Gopher since Mike Reilly in 2015 to be named a top-ten finalist. He joins fifteen Minnesota players in receiving that honor, including four who have won the award since it was first handed out in 1981.

"It's truly an honor to represent my teammates and the Gopher Hockey program as a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award," Sheehy said in a statement released by the University. "It's been a great's crazy to think that there are only a few weeks left in the season. We're certainly proud of what we've done so far, but we have a lot of goals left to accomplish, and we're looking forward to it."

Sheehy leads Minnesota and the Big Ten with 52 points (20G-32A) in 36 games. That total is tied for seventh nationally and the most from a Gopher player since 2005-06.

He was one of three Gophers initially nominated, along with linemate Justin Kloos and senior defenseman Jake Bischoff.

Joining Sheehy among the ten finalists is Moorhead native and Bemidji State junior goalie Michael Bitzer. The odds-on favorites to win the 2017 Hobey Baker all come from the East: Northeastern forward Zach Aston-Reese, Union forward Mike Vecchione and New Hampshire forward Tyler Kelleher.

The ten finalists will be cut down to three on March 30th with the Hobey Baker Award winner announced on April 7th in Chicago.

The Hobey Baker Award is awarded to the top player in Division 1 men's hockey each year. Its namesake, Hobey Baker, played college hockey and football at Princeton in the 1910s before enlisting with the US Army in World War 1. He died in a plane crash in 1918 at the age of 26.

No comments:

Post a Comment