Monday, June 12, 2017

Sydney Baldwin and Cara Piazza named 2017-18 co-captains

Minnesota's leadership group next season will be headed up by seniors Sydney Baldwin and Cara Piazza.

Baldwin and Piazza Monday were named co-captains for 2017-18 by their teammates. They replace 2016-17 captain Lee Stecklein and alternates Dani Cameranesi and Kate Schipper, all of whom graduated.

It's the first time either player has worn a letter with the Gophers.

"I'm confident in their abilities to lead the team both on and off the ice. I'm not surprised that their teammates selected them as captains," head coach Brad Frost said in a statement. "They both are great players and great students, and they are tremendous representatives of our program. We are looking forward to another great year of Gopher women's hockey."

Baldwin, a defender from Minnetonka, MN, plays in all situations, heading up a pairing much of last year with freshman Patti Marshall. The 2014 Minnesota Ms. Hockey finished her junior season with 16 points (2G-14A) in all 39 games and actually enters 2017-18 as the team's returning scorer thanks in part to Kelly Pannek and Sarah Potomak making their respective countries' Olympic rosters. In her Gopher career she has 49 total points

Piazza, a forward from Darien, Illinois, was a consistent presence on Minnesota's second line last season when not battling injuries. Piazza had 14 points (6G-8A) in 33 games. Prior to that she had scored 11 goals as both a freshman and sophomore.

2017-18 marks the third time in four seasons the Gophers go with co-captains. Rachael Bona and Rachel Ramsey shared the captain's "C" in 2014-15. Stecklein and Hannah Brandt did the same the following year as Minnesota repeated as national champions.

No comments:

Post a Comment